Maxim Ali

Senior Associate
Head of the IP/IT Practice

St Petersburg, Moscow

e-mail: m.ali@maximalegal.ru
vCard

QUALIFICATIONS AND EXPERTISE SUMMARY

Maxim Ali graduated from the law faculty of the St Petersburg University of Humanities and Social Sciences with honours. At the beginning of his legal career, Maxim provided in-house legal support to an education institution after which he worked for a number of years in law firm in St Petersburg.

In 2017 Maxim Ali joined the team at Maxima Legal. In his role as a Senior Associate, Maxim has shown that he is a responsible specialist and works to the highest standards. In the time that he has been working at the firm, Maxim has established himself as an expert in the field of information law as well as in e-commerce and media law.

Also Maxim has successful experience in defending clients ‘ interests in specialized courts in the Intellectual Property Court and the Chamber of Patent Disputes. At the same time, the lawyer managed not only to defend the interests of the client, but also to develop a new position for the Russian judicial practice, to which the court referred in its decision.

Maxim has worked with Russian, foreign and international companies from a wide range of industries including the IT sector, healthcare, metal and car producers, real estate and the entertainment industry.

SIGNIFICANT RECENT MATTERS

  • Complex legal support for a financial blockchain platform within the framework of an ICO. The project to attract $104 million was included in the short-list of the national legal award Pravo.ru – 300 – 2018 in the Digital Economy nomination. In addition, the work of Maxim was awarded the prize ‘Lawyer Season. Autumn 2018 – Deal of the Season” by business newspaper Delovoy Peterburg.
  • Development and introduction of a commercial secret regime, as well as negotiation and execution of agreements on obtaining rights to production secrets (know-how) within the framework of implementation of joint projects with international partners on localization of medical devices production in Russia.
  • Successful defense of the client’s interests and recognition of the illegal blocking of the site, which was carried out at the request of the prosecutor’s office and Roskomnadzor by all telecom operators in Russia without notifying the site administration.
  • Supporting several pilot and unique public-private partnership projects in the IT sphere. The complexity of the projects was due to the fact that at the time of their implementation similar cases were not available in the Russian legal practice, and the legislation on which the projects were based was adopted six months prior to their launch and had no clear interpretation on a number of issues.
  • Supporting joint projects of the with providing legal assistance to two joint projects between with the The D. D. Shostakovich St Petersburg Academic Philharmonic Hall and internet companies Yandex and LitRes and assisting with negotiations and entering into a contract for joint recording of the Philharmonic Orchestra and the renowned Japanese violinist Sayaka Shoji with one of the world’s largest recording labels – UNIVERSAL MUSIC.

OTHER PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES

  • Since 2017 Maxim has been a co-chairman of the Legal Committee of the St Petersburg International Business Association (SPIBA).

RECOGNITION

  • Best Lawyers 2021 (Russia, St Petersburg) – Information Technology Law, FinTech Practice, Gaming Law, Privacy and Data Security Law
  • Best Lawyers 2020 (Russia, St Petersburg) – Information Technology Law
  • Pravo.ru 300 (2017, 2018, 2019) – Intellectual Property practice
  • Pravo.ru 300 (2019) – ТМТ
  • Delovoy Peterburg Legal rating (2019) — Intellectual Law
  • Delovoy Peterburg rating ‘Lawyer of the Season – Autumn 2018’ (2018)  — Transactions
  • Pravo.ru 300 (2018) – list of finalist in the nomination of ‘Digital Economy’

EDUCATION

2012                St Petersburg University of Humanities and Social Sciences, Law Faculty (degreewith honours)

PUBLICATIONS

Maxim has authored a number of articles for professional and academic publications on matters such as intellectual property, protecting commercial reputation as well as dispute resolution and corporate law.

Maxim regularly provides expert opinions to business media, including Kommersant, Vedomosti, Rossiskaya Gazeta, Delovoy Peterburg, VC.RU, Rusbase and others.

Maxim is a columnist for legal and business internet resources including Zakon.ru, Regforum and E-xecutive.

LANGUAGES

Maxim speaks Russian (native) and English (fluent).

Максим Али

Старший юрист
Руководитель практики IP/ IT

Санкт-Петербург

e-mail: m.ali@maximalegal.ru
vCard

КВАЛИФИКАЦИЯ И ЭКСПЕРТИЗА

В начале юридической практики занимался комплексным правовым сопровождением деятельности вуза, в дальнейшем в течение нескольких лет работал в юридическом консалтинге.

В 2017 Максим присоединился к команде Maxima Legal. За время работы в компании он зарекомендовал себя как эксперт в сфере интеллектуальной собственности и информационного права, а также в области отношений, связанных с деятельностью e-commerce, интернет-проектов и СМИ.

Кроме этого, Максим обладает опытом ведения судебных дел, касающихся защиты  авторских  прав и деловой репутации клиентов. Отметим, что в рамках одного из споров юристу удалось не только отстоять интересы клиента, но и выработать новую для российской судебную практики позицию, на которую в своем решении сослался суд.

За годы своей практики Максим сотрудничал с российскими, зарубежными и международными компаниями, задействованными, в том числе, в сферах IT, медицинской, металлургической и автомобильной промышленности, недвижимости и индустрии развлечений.

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ ПРОЕКТЫ ЗА ПОСЛЕДНЕЕ ВРЕМЯ

  • Комплексная правовая поддержка финансовой блокчейн-платформы по привлечению 104 млн долларов в рамках ICO. Проект вошел в шорт-лист национальной юридической премии «Право.ru – 300» — 2018 в номинации «Цифровая экономика». Кроме того, работа Максима была отмечена премией «Юрист Сезона. Осень 2018 – Сделка сезона» ежеквартального рейтинга издания «Деловой Петербург».
  • Разработка и введение режима коммерческой тайны, а также переговоры и оформление договоренностей по поводу получения прав на секреты производства (ноу-хау) в рамках реализации клиентом совместных с международными партнерами проектов локализации производства медицинских изделий в России.
  • Успешная защита интересов клиента и признание незаконной блокировки сайта, которая была произведена по требованию прокуратуры и Роскомнадзора всеми операторами связи на территории РФ без уведомления администрации сайта.
  • Сопровождение нескольких пилотных и уникальном в своем роде проектов государственно-частного партнерства в сфере IT. Сложность проектов была связана с тем, что на момент их реализации аналогичные кейсы отсутствовали в российской юридической практике, а само законодательство, на котором базировались проекты, было принято за полгода до их запуска и не имело однозначного толкования по ряду вопросов.
  • Сопровождение совместных проектов Санкт-Петербургской государственной академической филармонии им. Д.Д. Шостаковича с интернет-компаниями «Яндекс» и «Литрес», а также переговоров и заключения контракта на совместную запись оркестра клиента и известной японской скрипачки Саяка Сёдзи с одним из крупнейших мировых лейблов звукозаписи – UNIVERSAL MUSIC.

ИНАЯ ПРОФЕССИОНАЛЬНАЯ ДЕЯТЕЛЬНОСТЬ

  • Сопредседатель Юридического Комитета Санкт-Петербургской Международной Бизнес-Ассоциации (СПИБА)

ПРОФЕССИОНАЛЬНОЕ ПРИЗНАНИЕ

  • Best Lawyers 2020  (Russia, St Petersburg) — Information Technology Law
  • Право.ru-300 (2017, 2018) — практика «Интеллектуальная собственность»

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ

2012                Юридический факультет СПбГУП (диплом с отличием)

ПУБЛИКАЦИИ И УЧАСТИЕ В МЕРОПРИЯТИЯХ 

Максим – активный участник международных, общероссийских и региональных научно-практических и деловых конференций, посвященных, в частности, вопросам интеллектуальной собственности, IT-сектору и электронной коммерции. Организатор и участник образовательных и деловых семинаров и мастер-классов. Максим является нескольких десятков статей и множества комментариев  в профессиональной и деловой прессе, включая издания Forbes, «Коммерсантъ», «Деловой Петербург»,  ТАСС, VC.RU, Rusbase и другие.

ЯЗЫКИ

Свободно владеет английским языком.