Sergei Bakeshin commented for the Novy Prospect on a dispute about a change of a priority of claims of affiliated creditors in a bankruptcy case

Sergei Bakeshin - Senior Associate

At the end of October 2020 the first instance court restored the former managers of the bankrupt International Bank of Saint Petersburg in the Register of creditors of the first order. The bankers as private depositors are demanding to return them of almost 1 billion rubles stuck in their bank accounts. The state corporation Deposit Insurance Agency (which rescues the bank) is trying to appeal against the court decision.

It should be noted, that earlier courts had different solutions to the question of returning the money to the people who controlled the business. However, in 2020, the Presidium of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation approved the Review of judicial practice of resolving disputes related to the establishment in bankruptcy proceedings claims of affiliated creditors. 

“According to the new rules, affiliated and controlling business persons` claims for the return of a compensatory financing (money provided in a situation of property crisis to overcome it) are subject of subordination,” Sergei Bakeshin, Head of Dispute resolution and Insolvency practice at Maxima Legal, explained for the Novy Prospect online edition. According to the expert, the affiliated creditors must prove that the disputed deposits were not compensatory financing. “If anyone has reasonable doubts that the financing provided to the bank by the controlling person was compensation, it is up to those who gave the money to refute these doubts,” Sergei stressed.

To read the full article (in Russian) please see the Novy Prospect website >>>

Сергей Бакешин прокомментировал для «Нового проспекта» спор об изменении очередности требований аффилированных кредиторов в деле о банкротстве МБСП

Сергей Бакешин – старший юрист

В конце октября 2020 года суд первой инстанции восстановил в реестре кредиторов первой очереди банкротящегося Международного банка Санкт-Петербурга (МБСП) его бывших руководителей – Сергея и Татьяну Баженовых. Банкиры требуют вернуть им как вкладчикам-физлицам в общем сложности почти 1 млрд рублей, застрявших на банковских счетах. Государственная корпорация «Агентство по страхованию вкладов», которая санирует банк, пытается обжаловать решение суда.

Отметим, что ранее суды по-разному решали вопрос о возврате денег лицам контролировавшим бизнес. Однако в 2020 году Президиум Верховного Суда РФ утвердил Обзор судебной практики разрешения споров, связанных с установлением в процедурах банкротства требований аффилированных кредиторов.  

«Согласно новым правилам, требования аффилированных и контролирующих бизнес лиц о возврате им компенсационного финансирования (то есть денег, предоставленных в ситуации имущественного кризиса для его преодоления) подлежат субординации», — пояснил для интернет-издания «Новый проспект» руководитель практики разрешения споров и банкротства Maxima Legal Сергей Бакешин. По мнению эксперта, именно супруги Бажановы, а не конкурсный управляющий, должны доказывать, что спорные вклады не являлись компенсационным финансированием. «Если у кого-то есть разумные сомнения в том, что финансирование, предоставленное банку контролирующим лицом, было компенсационным, опровергать эти сомнения должны те, кто эти деньги давали», — подчеркнул Сергей.

Ознакомиться с материалом можно на страницах интернет-издания «Новый проспект» >>>